Getting out there

Hi – Jody here.  I am getting ready for the Business of Software Conference next week. Can’t wait to see old friends, catch up on trends and do some product testing and market research for Tribbon. Oh!  And I am doing a lightning talk this year about living fearlessly so I am even more jazzed than normal.

Patrick (my cofounder, developer and super-CEO) has been up late nights working hard to get Tribbon ready to show and test at the conference. It has been both impressive and painful to watch him juggle the demands of a full time day job, travel, family, unexpected technical glitches and a nasty head cold in the process. Oh, the glamorous life of a startup.  😉

We will be demoing and talking about Tribbon at BOS for anyone who would like to check it out. We might even have a version for you to try out for yourself by then. Stay tuned! Feedback and suggestions are being gathered at uservoice.tribbon.com. Feel free to go there and share your thoughts now or later.

As a marketing professional I have to admit, I am learning that there are vast differences between what you do for a start up and what you do for an established company. What an awesome adventure! I will start sharing some of my lessons learned in upcoming posts.

In the meantime, here is a summary of the tactics I am deploying for this event.

  1. A blog to communicate updates and other good stuff (you are reading it now)
  2. Some well-timed tweets on the conference hash tag (#BOS2012)  leading up to the event.
  3. customer feedback mechanism (I chose Uservoice because they had a great mobile experience)
  4. A basic website with a decent product description:  www.tribbon.com
  5. Branding stuff.  Biz cards & t-shirts with QR code, elevator pitch, etc.
  6. Speaking gig at the event to draw some attention (AKA: 400 hours prepping for 7 minutes of torture :))
  7. Be present and helpful at the event.
  8. Analyze the results and decide what to do next.

So that’s the plan. I am sure I haven’t nailed it completely. I know I must have missed the mark on a few things or overlooked some altogether. But I am willing to make mistakes to learn. THAT feels pretty darn good.

Let me know what you think.

Jody

0 Responses to “Getting out there”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


